Home really is where the heart is

Whenever a soon-to-graduate college senior asks me if they should take a job away from their home state, I’m always the first person to mimic the Nike ad and say, “Just do it.” Get out of your comfort zone, meet new people, experience new places. Don’t look back on your life and say, “What if?”

I’ve been in Minnesota for 3.5 years now. Before I interviewed for my current job, I’d never been to the state. I’d never lived in a city bigger than East Lansing and I’d never lived away from the state of Michigan for more than the length of a summer internship. I knew absolutely no one. It has been a new experience in every sense of the word.

I would be lying, though, if I said it wasn’t hard.

Until you’re out in the real world, you don’t realize how hard it is to make friends as an adult. High school and college are these weird places where friends are basically there for the taking, already sharing the same interests as you – they’re in classes, clubs, mabye even dorms that you hand selected, so obviously you’ve got to have a little in common. When you move to a new state, though, with no one familiar, you don’t have any of that. People already have their own friends and activities, and you’re the oddball in the mix.

Thankfully, I’ve been fortunate enough to be surrounded by truly wonderful people. Most are those I work with, so not only have they made my job fun, but they’ve also invited me into their homes to share their friends and families. I couldn’t have asked for better people to welcome me with open arms.

Next month, I’m moving back to Michigan.

My fiance recently got the opportunity to take a job closer to home and my company is allowing me to work remotely, so we’re taking the chance while we’ve got it and moving back closer to our families and friends. Yes, we’ll be leaving behind our basically brand new and first-ever house. And I won’t get to see my wonderful coworkers near as often as I do now. But we’ll be gaining so much more than we’re losing.

We’ll be able to see our parents and siblings more than once a year. We’ll be able to have dinner with friends on a random weeknight. We can volunteer with our local FFA chapters. We’ll get to go tailgate at a Michigan State football game or cheer on the Lions when they play the Vikings in a see of blue, instead of purple. All of the things we’ve been missing for 3.5 years will be back in our lives on a regular basis and we couldn’t be more excited.

I still stand by that recommendation to college seniors – go out and try something new outside your comfort zone. I wouldn’t give up the experiences I’ve had for anything. You can always come back home.

And it’ll be that much sweeter when you do.

4 thoughts on “Home really is where the heart is

  1. Ari says:

    So glad you are both able to move back home! Congrats! My fiance and I moved to Texas from Florida and yes, it is difficult to make friends as an adult! But the experience has brought us closer and taught us a lot!

    I definitely recommend to others to live away from home at some point! We have plans of moving back home in a few years too. So congrats to both! Best of luck!

    • sollmana says:

      Thanks for the comment, Ari!

      That is so true about growing closer to your significant other when you’re the only familiar people to each other in a new place. We’ve gotten to have so many new experiences during our time in Minnesota (living together for the first time, buying our first house, getting our first dog) and I couldn’t be more grateful for that. Makes me excited for what the future holds!

      • Ari says:

        Aw that is very true. Well, the best of luck to both being back at home! I will be waiting to read some posts on how it goes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

