Out to the Movies: The Avengers

Haven’t seen The Avengers yet?

Do it. NOW.

I’ll be the first to say, I was not the first in line to see this movie. I haven’t seen any of the previous movies (Iron Man 1 or 2, Thor, Hulk), except for Captain America. And while CA was entertaining, it wasn’t my favorite movie by any stretch of the imagination. However, the BF wanted to see it and so we went together while I was home for his college graduation.

Boy, was I ever glad I went.

The Avengers is everything you want in a big budget action flick, combined with the Joss Whedon one-liner hilarity that I absolutely love. If you’re not a fan of the Whedonverse (Buffy, Angel, Firefly, Serenity, Dr. Horrible, etc…), this means nothing to you. However, if you are a Joss Whedon fangirl or fanboy, you will understand why I was so glad to find out that he was the man behind the screenplay and in the director’s chair for The Avengers (somehow this fact alluded me until the credits rolled). His first foray into big dollar blockbusters was successful on every account.

Even if you’re not a comic book person, this movie is one you won’t want to miss. I’m a big fan of going to the theater (if you hadn’t guessed already) and even I will say that this is the most fun I’ve had at a movie in a long time. It’s going to be a big opening weekend for The Avengers, and it’s no secret why. Get yourself in front of the big screen for this. Soon. You won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

