Memphis Lives in Me

Okay. So that title is kind of a lie. Because I don’t think I’ve ever been to Memphis.

But, boy did I love the musical!

Last Thursday, I had the pleasure of going to see Memphis – the 2010 Tony-award-winning Best Musical – during its first time out on the road. I had actually seen it before (albeit on TV – PBS had recorded one of the shows with the original cast and it was streaming on Netflix back in the fall), but wouldn’t have traded seeing it live for anything in the world. The show was awesome!!

Memphis is a fictionalized depiction of the life of the first white radio DJ in Memphis that dared to play black rock and roll (aka “race music”) back in the 1950s. Combine a great story with amazing music and there’s no surprise that it was the Best Musical winner. Then, top it off with the fact that there’s audience participation (singing and dancing along with the cast at the end!) and you’ve pretty much figured out how to put me in heaven.

I know several of my friends are going to see Memphis when it comes to their cities. If you have a chance, BUY TICKETS NOW! You will not regret it!

If you want a little taste of the awesomeness that is Memphis, check out this mash-up of Underground/Memphis Lives in Me – two of my favorite songs! – with the original cast performing on The View:

Leave a Reply

