My summer reading list

I’m one of those crazy millenials who likes to read. Check out what I’m checking out this summer!

1 – Where the Girls Are: Growing Up Female with the Mass Media, Susan J. Douglas

I just finished this one a couple of weeks ago. Despite the fact that this was written by a professor at that other school down the road, it’s actually a very interesting analysis of how the mass media has influenced women since the 50s. From Bewitched to Farrah Fawcett, it’s very interesting how Douglas correlates the confusion the media has in how to portray women with the internal confusion women feel about what role they should take in society. This book was suggested by my professor in my gender communications course and is definitely worth a read.

2- Black Heels to Tractor Wheels, Ree Drummond

Okay, so this is probably as far away from #1 as you can get. Yes, it’s written by “The Pioneer Woman” and is all about her relationship with her husband, aka Marlboro Man. I’m about 2/3 of the way through it and it is every bit as excellent as I thought it would be. Endearing and romantic, it’s basically a good chick flick on paper.

3- Enlightened Sexism: The Seductive Message that Feminism’s Work is Done, Susan J. Douglas

Yes, I’m one of those crazy feminists. You can breathe now. We read a section of this book in the aforementioned gender comm class and I’m really looking forward to picking up a copy and reading the rest. It builds on Douglas’s previous work (aka book #1 in this list) and examines how the idea that women have accomplished equality has led to an overabundance of blatent sexism/sex in the media and the willingness of women to make fun of other women, such as we do with reality shows like “The Bachelorette”.

4- The NOW Revolution, Jay Baer and Amber Naslund

I follow these two lovely authors on Twitter and am so impressed by Jay’s involvement in the ag industry. I watched a recent presentation Jay did on a visit to AdFarm and think he’s definitely on to something. Looking forward to reading the book and seeing what other ideas he has.

5- Mirror Mirror, Gregory Maguire

I totally forgot I was reading this, so had to come back and add it! This is the second Gregory Maguire book I’ve read (the first was Wicked) and it’s not half-bad. This one takes a twist on Snow White and looks at it from the POV of the other characters in the story. If you’ve never read a Maguire book, I’ll warn you – they are hard to read. The language is weird to me. However, if you just read it for the whole (and not the value of each sentence individually, if that makes sense), you’ll find they’re actually quite good.

6- The Help, Kathryn Stockett

I have no idea what this book is about or why people love it so much, but it’s been recommended to me so many times I just had to add it to the list.

Do you have any other reading suggestions for me?

2 thoughts on “My summer reading list

Leave a Reply

