Flooding and agriculture – Can’t even imagine

My friend Janice has been using her blog to keep us up-to-date on the flooding of the Mississippi River over the past couple of weeks as its been affecting Memphis, where she lives. Thankfully, all of her family is alright and none of her possessions have been damaged. She’s been one of the lucky ones, though, and I’m keeping in my thoughts all of those people who have no home to go to now and are trying to figure out where to go next. I can’t even fathom what it’s like to be in that situation and hope everything turns out alright in the end.

One of Janice’s posts that really made me stop and go “Wow” was this one where she talked about how the flooding is affecting agriculture throughout the region. She has pictures of fields that, one week, have some standing water along the edges and then look like a river the following week. There are also images of grain bins that have water up to their bases. It’s just so terrible to see and I can’t imagine how those farmers are dealing with knowing that their way of life is under water, in some cases.

I’ve always said that one of the biggest reasons I respect farmers is because of their willingness to take on unmeasurable risk. As much as I love agriculture, being a crop farmer (specifically) scares the life out of me. How do you go into each season at the mercy of the weather, crop prices, equipment breakdowns, injuries, etc.? With the flooding of the Mississippi, the tornadoes in the south, droughts in the west and late planting in the north, this risk is rearing its face in an ugly way. To me – someone who I don’t think could ever be a crop farmer out of pure fear of the unknown – I think that’s what puts farmers on a pedestal for me. They’re incredibly brave.

Again, I hope everyone who is along the Mississippi or recovering from tornado damage is safe and keeps taking it one day at a time. If you’re in one of those areas, let us know how you’re doing. We’ll keep thinking of you and hoping for the best.

One thought on “Flooding and agriculture – Can’t even imagine

  1. JPlovesCOTTON says:

    Thanks Amanda. Friends further south of Memphis continue to struggle with flooding and the unknown threat of whether or not the levee will hold. Taking photos were a great way for me to collect this for myself but blogging & sharing it with others was cathartic for me & seems to have been helpful in getting others to understand. Farmers rock!

Leave a Reply

