Hola, Windy City!

This week I’m taking a quick trip to Chicago to visit a friend and get some business done. I must say, I really like Chicago as far as big cities go. I love that there’s a lot to do and see and you don’t necessarily need a big budget to do it.

Like every good Chicago tourist, we took our picture in "The Bean"!

A couple of summers ago, the boy and I took a weekend to go to Chi-Town and we had a great time. We did all the wonderful tourist stuff like taking our picture in “The Bean”, listening to a blues singer on Navy Pier and watching the fireworks over Lake Michigan from a sailboat. We walked up and down the “Magnificent Mile” (hello shopping!) and visited the Museum of Science and Industry where they had a special exhibit featuring props from all the Harry Potter movies!

Then, last winter I went and visited a high school friend (the same friend I’m visiting this week) and she took us to a lot of quirky shops and restaurants (Chicago Pizza and Oven Grinder is a MUST for any Chicago visitors — thanks to Beth Stuever for the tip on that one!) and we even went to a free zoo! Chicago’s one of those cities that anyone can enjoy, no matter what you like to do, in my opinion.

Someday I’d like to go to a Broadway show in Chicago, visit Shedd Aquarium and go to a baseball game (I hear their fans are pretty hard core!). What is your favorite thing to do in Chicago? Have any great restaurants or hole-in-the-wall places that I need to make sure to get to someday?

3 thoughts on “Hola, Windy City!

  1. Kathleen says:

    Have you visited the Billy Goat, yet? That’s the first place the Meat Board took me when I visited Chicago. Made a lasting impression on me.

Leave a Reply

