We. Are. Fam-i-ly!

Sorry, whenever I think of a reunion that’s the song I sing! But this isn’t a family reunion or a wedding…it’s the Class of 2.o reunion! Everybody who attended the first-ever AgChat Foundation social media training conference back in August is getting together to re-connect and reflect on what they learned to see where they can go in the future. I figured this is as good a chance as any to do some reflection of my own!

I’ll be the first to admit that I didn’t even apply for the ACF conference until the last possible day. I didn’t have the money, wasn’t sure how I’d get to Chicago and, besides, I was already pretty saavy with all the social media stuff so I probably wouldn’t be missing out on too much.

Boy, am I ever glad I changed my mind!

The ACF conference was probably one of the most meaningful conferences I’ve attended, simply for the fact that I got to put faces and voices to the people I was meeting online. Those people have come to be ones I know I can count on in a pinch, close friends and professional colleagues. Even if you threw all the social media stuff out the window, that part alone would have made the whole trip worth it.

Thankfully, we didn’t throw all the social media stuff out the window 🙂

Beyond meeting people, I was able to learn a lot more about things like SEO (search engine optimization – see, I’m sounding smarter already!) and taking video. I also made a personal goal for myself to blog at least twice a week. Although I’ll be the first to admit that this is still a challenge for me, I’m working on it the best I can and hopefully I’ll get to the point where it’s a habit.

As the reunion rolls on, I encourage each of you to think about attending an ACF training in the future. This group of volunteers is amazing in terms of their dedication to helping farmers and ranchers learn how to utilize social media tools to tell their stories. You won’t regret it, I can promise you that!

Leave a Reply

