Lea Michele and PETA? Please say it ain’t so…

For anyone who knows me even the littlest bit, you know that I am a huge fan of Glee. I have always been a huge fan of musicals (on stage and film) and a weekly musical on my television is everything I could have asked for. The great songs, the snarky humor…I love it all. I find myself looking forward to Tuesday nights (probably to the dismay of some of my #agchat friends!) for that hour when I can sing along, be absorbed in the high school story line and pretend that I, too, can someday live in a world where people burst out in song. 🙂

Which is why it dismays me so to know that Lea Michele, who plays the gotta love her-gotta despise her lead Rachel, is both a vegan and an avid supporter of PETA. This tweet came through my stream the other day and I couldn’t help but be saddened:

Hey guys! Check out my new @peta campaign and join us in boycotting horse drawn carriages! http://ht.ly/3yeZc

See, I love Glee, but I really love agriculture – which PETA is fundamentally opposed to. I know that not everyone in the cast probably supports Lea’s beliefs and decisions (although, she was giving away cast-signed items for the campaign. Not sure if they really choose where that stuff goes), but I also know that by supporting the show, I support her ability to support an organization that is opposed to my beliefs and lifestyle. It’s a very hard thought to wrangle with.

I think the hardest part for me is to go back and forth with whether what celebrities believe in their personal life should or should not be separated from what they do professionally. Carrie Underwood is a vegetarian and regularly partners with PETA. Does that mean she’s not a great singer? Does that mean people shouldn’t go to her shows where she puts on a great act and represents country music to the best of her ability? Would people think I can’t do a good job in my professional life because of a personal decision I make (religion, marriage, etc.)? I don’t know.

What do you do when you learn that a celebrity supports a group like PETA or HSUS? Carrie Underwood, Lea Michele, Kelli Pickler…they’re not the first or the last to go down this road as vegetarianism and veganism continues to become the coolest trend in Hollywood.

I’ll admit, it’ll be really hard for me to give up watching Glee, but I know some people are willing to make that boycott. I’d love to hear some other thoughts and opinions, as I know it’s something agriculture will continue to face and have to deal with.

One thought on “Lea Michele and PETA? Please say it ain’t so…

  1. iafarmwife says:

    Bummer! I like watching the show too. I guess the term “ignorance is bliss” really applies here, huh? Unfortunately, I’ll have to put my money where my mouth is and quit watching. It’s one thing to have a personal way of life, and it’s another thing to use your professional career to advance an agenda that speaks out against another way of life and deems it to be “wrong.”

Leave a Reply

