Cheering a losing team…now that’s dedication!

When my boyfriend and I watch our beloved Spartans play, we tend to have different attitudes when they’re losing. Yesterday, we got to experience this difference full force when the guys went down (rather painfully) to Alabama 49-7 in the Capital One Bowl.

See, when our team is losing by a lot, Mitch tends to want to turn the TV off and find something else to do. His point is ‘Why do you want to put yourself through this? It’s not going to get any better!’. I, however, tend to leave the television on and watch until the end. Yes, it’s probably just masochism where football is involved, but that dedication is kind of part of my personality.

When I start something, I can’t help but follow through until it’s completed. That was instilled in me by my dad when I was little. Even if we started a sport or project that we ended up not liking or wasn’t going well, we didn’t get to stop in the middle of a season or leave our teammates hanging. Today, even when I take on too much, I feel a sense of responsibility to keep pushing until I’ve finished what I committed to doing.

I think that’s a trait that’s heavy in agriculture (even if Mitch doesn’t like it where it’s related to the Spartans!). Farmers and other agriculturalists stick through weather, tough markets, family challenges and more – no matter what it takes, because they’ve made a commitment to providing Americans with a safe and consistent food supply. I hope that a new generation of agriculturalists, including young farmers, gardeners and those joining the local food movement, carry this characteristic with them as they face struggles to reach success.

Now, I shouldn’t beat Mitch up too bad. There is also something to be said for people who recognize something is not working, ditch it and move on to the next thing that could be a success. I actually think there’s a little of both personalities in most of us. What about you? Are you one to cheer on your team even though they’re dying a slow, painful death? Or do you realize that your time could be better spent by moving on?

2 thoughts on “Cheering a losing team…now that’s dedication!

  1. kellymrivard says:

    Depends.

    I’m a Cubs fan. I’m used to losing. I will always be a Cubs fan and will always be used to losing.

    However, in other aspects of my life, I move on fairly quickly, or get discouraged and toss in the towel.

    I think a good balance of “stick-to-it” and a realistic outlook is key.

  2. olivere7 says:

    That truly was a painful game. I didn’t get to watch it on the TV, but I had the ESPN game updates sent to my phone out in the barn.

    Watching MSU play separates college sports from any other level. I watch pro football on occasion, but it’s just not the same as thinking “that’s my school,” “I have class with that person.” So, usually, I keep on rooting… for example, the Iowa game. My expectations for the Bowl game were significantly lower… in that case I remind myself that football is not the only reason I’m a fan of my school!

Leave a Reply

