Rather busy than bored-A look back on the year

When I look back at 2010, I can’t help but think of how crazy life has been. Between visiting high school agriscience programs; travelling to Kansas City for NAMA Convention, Lexington, Ky. for my internship, Chicago for the first-ever AgChat Foundation Conference and then again to visit one of my best friends from high school, Indianapolis for National FFA Convention and Las Vegas for National NAAE Convention; taking classes; working three jobs; staying involved in Collegiate FFA and NAMA activities; co-moderating #AgEduChat; AND doing my homework — it feels like I haven’t stop running for the last 12 months!

Stopping (for 5 seconds) to reflect on the year, though, I find that I’ve met some wonderful people and experienced some wonderful things amongst all that craziness.

I am super thankful for the #agchat and AgChat Foundation community of friends I’ve come to know over the past year. It’s so odd to think that I barely talked (or typed) to any of them last December. Kelly (Twitter | Blog) has become my sister-from-another-mister, Jeff (Twitter) is the cowboy voice I can’t get out of my head, Darin (Twitter | Blog) is the voice of reason, Janice (Twitter | Blog) is one of the most self-less and sassy people I know – traits that I admire in anyone 😉 – Mike (Twitter) is one of two Buckeye’s who’s always around for a good laugh (or contest to get on the most lists!), Drew (Twitter | Blog) is my fellow ag education buddy and partner in crime with #AgEduChat and Michele, Beth, Sara, Ashley and Jill are my Spartans in cyberland. The list goes on and on, but suffice it to say that I could not imagine what 2010 without #agchat. Our time spent from 8-10 pm EST (plug! plug!), in Chicago, on Buzz and beyond has formed friendships and connections that I hope are only just beginning.

In 2010, one of my best friends from high school got engaged and will start the (long) chain of people getting hitched. It’s weird to think that my friends and I are reaching that point in our lives. In any case, I look forward to seeing how people’s lives continue to change.

This year was also the start to the last leg of preparation for graduation and a career in agricultural education. I started my senior level ag ed classes, wrote many lesson plans, taught in front of my classmates and visited ag programs around the state. Luckily, I was able to pass my teacher certification tests on the first try, which means that the only thing that lays between me and a job is graduation in May and next year of student teaching. I never fail to be impressed with the work that ag teachers and those working in the youth agricultural programming around the country are doing and I can’t wait to join their ranks.

2011 will start my final year of undergraduate studies at Michigan State and inch me even closer to the “real world”. I hope to spend the next year meeting amazing people, having valuable experiences, and “agvocating” with all I’ve got. Based on 2010, I can only imagine 2011 will be one to jump into with both feet!

Leave a Reply

