DIY Coasters

Now, for anyone who knows me, it’s pretty clear that I’m not really crafty. While my mom can sew and quilt and my grandma was a very talented crochet-er, I was never really interested in any of that when I was younger. Now that I’m living by myself, however, with some free time on the weekends, I’ve decided that I need something to keep myself entertained. Although I won’t be making my own clothes or knitting an afghan any time soon, I figured there were some easier things that I could start with.

Baby steps.

So, the other day while surfing Pinterest (of which I am now mildly addicted), I found these cute easy-to-do coasters. With just a few materials, I could stop leaving Coke rings on my tables!

You will need scrapbook paper (or wallpaper leftovers or photos or anything else you’d like on your coaster!), 4×4 white bathroom tiles ($0.16 at Home Depot), spray adhesive, felt pads (like what you put on the bottom of table legs) and clear spray paint.

Step 1

Cut out pieces of scrapbook paper slightly smaller than the 4×4 tile. By making them a little smaller, you don’t have to worry about over-hang or the paper peeling off later.

Step 2

Spray the back of the paper square and adhere to the tile. Smooth out any bubbles and let dry for a few seconds.

Step 3

Spray a layer of clear spray paint over the top. This will help protect the paper from water/condensation from your drinks and help keep the paper from peeling. Let dry according to spray paint can directions.

Step 4

Stick felt pads on the bottom corners of your coaster.

I found these little plastic dot things at Home Depot and they worked just as well as the felt pads. They also lift the coaster a little off the surface of your table for extra scratch-proof-ness.

Step 5

You’re done! See, super easy!

The coasters I made!

Since I found scrapbook paper on sale at Joann Fabrics 4 for $1.00 and the tiles were only $0.16, I could have easily made a ton more of these. But, since I’m living single, I didn’t really have a reason to go beyond 6 (even at that, I’m thinking of taking one or two to work).

If you’re looking for a fun and easy weekend project, I’d encourage you to give this a shot. They’re great for yourself or as a gift. Have fun picking out scrapbook paper that fits your personality and dive right in!

4 thoughts on “DIY Coasters

  1. For the record, I was going to do this project and I was going to do a post about it lol Great minds think alike. I’ll have to post the results of mine after I get them finished :)

  2. Great post! I just made some similar to this and was trying to decide what to put on the bottoms. On a random side note…is that a spider on your table with the finished tiles?

Leave a Reply

