My mentor, my best friend – my dad

For anyone whose ever seen my dad and I together, it’s pretty easy to tell that we’re related. No, we don’t necessarily look alike (I can thank my mom for my stellar good looks :P ), but we have similar mannerisms, are interested in the same things and have rather mirrored personalities. I’m a daddy’s girl through and through and he’s rubbed off a little on me over the past 23 years, to say the least.

While a lot of these things may be true in a lot of father-daughter relationships, I can go beyond all that and say that my dad is one of my best friends. He’s the one I run to for advice, he’s the one who introduced me to agriculture and he continues to be the one who shares many of my same passions and interests. I remember spending nights and days with my dad at school (he’s an agriscience teacher) and, after my parents divorced before I started 6th grade, we went through some growing pains together. But we came out all the better for it and I can’t imagine what it will be like when the day comes that he’s not around anymore.

In two weeks, I’m moving to Minneapolis to start my career. It’s the furthest I’ve ever lived from home for the longest period of time. I know my dad’s always a phone call away, thankfully, because I know there will be lots of requests for advice and assistance, even though there’s 11 hours between us.

So with that, thank you to my dad for everything you’ve done for me over the years and thank you to all the dads out there who love their children unconditionally, share neverending advice and give a good reputation to the title of “father”. Happy Father’s Day!

Leave a Reply

